North Sea Chapter

IADC North Sea Chapter

The North Sea Chapter, based in Aberdeen, represents member companies in North West Europe. Regular meetings are held to address issues of importance to member companies. Task groups and working parties are set up to deal with issues and provide a ‘voice’ for the drilling industry in key industry matters.

Chapter Office

c/o Valaris
Gateway Crescent
Gateway Business Park
Aberdeen AB12 3GA
Tel: 44/01224 780400

For more information contact the Chapter Administrator at


Matthew Brodie, Noble Drilling

Gary Holman, Awilco Drilling and Andy Leslie, Transocean

Allen McIntosh, NOV

Keith Ross, Halliburton
Andrew Burns, Weatherford

Chapter Structure

The North Sea Chapter represents member companies in North West Europe. Regular meetings are held to address issues of importance to member companies. Task groups and working parties are set up to deal with issues and provide a ‘voice’ for the drilling industry in key industry matters.

The 2020 Chair of the North Sea Chapter is Matthew Brodie, Noble Drilling and Gary Holman, Awilco Drilling and Andy Leslie, Transocean are Vice Chairs.

Vice Chairs Associate Members are Keith Ross, Halliburton and Andrew Burns, Weatherford.

Working Parties

IADC North Sea Chapter’s current Working Parties include:

Safety, Health & Environment Working Party
Mission Statement
Kevin Pope (Chair)
John Ellis (Vice Chair)
KCA Deutag
Diamond Offshore Drilling
Training & Competency Working Party
Mission Statement
Cristobal Gaspar (Chair) Borr Drilling
HR Group Alexis Hay (Chair) Transocean

Representation on External Groups

Emergency Preparedness Offshore Liaison (EPOL) Stuart Clow IADC
OPITO Strategic Board Gary Holman Awilco Drilling
Offshore Training Foundation (OTF) Board Kenny Dey Archer
OPITO UK Board Kenny Dey

Gary Holman


Awilco Drilling

OPITO UK Industry Forum Stuart Clow IADC
OMAHAC (Offshore Major Accident Hazards Advisory Committee) Stuart Clow IADC
OGUK – Pandemic Steering Group (PSG) Stuart Clow IADC
OGUK – Aviation Safety Technical Group (ASTG) Stuart Clow IADC
Step Change Leadership Team Stuart Clow

Gary Holman


Awilco Drilling

OMHEC (Offshore Mechanical Handling Equipment Committee) Claus Schiller Maersk Drilling

Meeting Schedule

Please note the following meetings are open to North Sea Chapter Contractor and Committee members only.

NSC Meetings

Date Time
28 January 10.30
27 March 10.30
12 May 10.30
30 June 10.30
18 August 10.30
13 October 10.30
26 November 15.00

NSC Safety, Health and Environment Working Party Meetings

Date Time
14 January 10.30
28 April 10.30
25 August 10.30
10 November 10.30

NSC Training & Competency Working Party Meetings

Date Time
4 March 10.30
1 July 10.30
18 November 10.30

NSC HR Group Meetings

Date Time
TBC 10.00

Chapter Members

  • Archer (UK) Limited
  • Awilco Drilling PLC
  • Borr Drilling
  • COSL Drilling Europe AS
  • Diamond Offshore Drilling (UK) Ltd
  • Dolphin Drilling Ltd
  • KCA Deutag Drilling Ltd
  • Maersk Drilling
  • Noble Drilling Ltd
  • Odfjell Drilling (UK) Ltd
  • Seadrill
  • Stena Drilling Ltd
  • Transocean
  • Valaris
  • Well-Safe Solutions
  • Aberdeen Drilling Consultants
  • Aberdeen First Aid School
  • Advanced Drilling Technologies (Adrilltech) FZE
  • Allrig Ltd
  • Ann McRobb Associates
  • Aramark
  • Atlas Professionals
  • Axess North Sea Ltd
  • Augean North Sea Services
  • Blaze Manufacturing Solutions Ltd
  • Cable Solutions Worldwide Ltd
  • Cameron Flow Control Technology UK Ltd
  • Centrifuges Un-limited
  • Control Union Industrial Inspections
  • Derrick Services (UK) Limited
  • Drilling Systems
  • Drillmar Resources
  • Dron & Dickson
  • Electro-Flow Controls Ltd
  • Enerpro Group Ltd
  • ESS Suport Services Worldwide
  • Forum Energy Technologies (UK) Ltd
  • Gates Engineering & Services Ltd
  • Glenside Energy Services Ltd
  • Global Energy Group Ltd
  • Global Offshore
  • Global Resource Network (GRN)
  • Halliburton ESG UK Ltd
  • Haynes and Boone CDG, LLP
  • Highland Oilfield Services Group Ltd
  • Hoover Ferguson UK Limited
  • Infinity Oilfield Services Limited
  • InterMoor
  • Iqarus Ltd
  • iTS, Parker Drilling
  • Intervention Rentals
  • Kishorn Port Ltd
  • LHR Marine Ltd
  • MHWirth
  • Monitor Systems Scotland Ltd
  • NOV Wellsite Services
  • NOV M/D Totco
  • Nucore Group Limited
  • NSL
  • OES Oilfield Services (UK) Limited
  • OWM Group Ltd
  • OPITO Limited
  • Petrofac Training Services  – (invoice: Petrofac Facilities Management)
  • Polaris Learning Ltd
  • Premium Drilling Tools Ltd
  • The REACH Group
  • Red Wing UK
  • Rigmar Group
  • RigQuip
  • Rig Surveys Limited
  • Salunda
  • Saturn FE Ltd
  • Semco Maritime Ltd
  • Sodexo Remote Sites
  • Swire Oilfield Services
  • Step Oiltools (UK) Ltd
  • TETRA Technologies (U.K.) Limited
  • Texo Group
  • Weatherford UK
  • Westerton Access Limited
  • Superior – Wild Well Energy Services Limited
  • Yardbury Engineering & Oilfield Products Ltd

Upcoming Events

Date Event
TBD Charity Golf Tournament

2020 Safety Awards

“This year has been particularly tough and challenging in our industry with the low price of oil and the ongoing global pandemic which resulted in our annual IADC Safety Awards evening being postponed until next year. Despite this, it was important for the IADC North Sea Chapter to recognise the safety commitment by all our members in particular the Chairman’s Special Award. I’d like to thank Matthew our Chapter Chairman for his virtual presentation, a first for the chapter and hopefully the last, and presenting the awards to the Drilling Contractors in the various categories, the two Associate Members and to our Chairman’s Special Award winner this year, congratulations and a great achievement, thanks.”
– Stuart Clow, IADC

Associates Members Index

Add your company information to the Members Index

The IADC North Sea Chapter Associate Members Index is a tool for collaboration and info sharing.