Contractor of the Year Award

The IADC Contractor of the Year award was established in 1988 to recognize individual drilling contractors and their outstanding lifetime achievements in technical innovation, safety and economic efficiency within the drilling industry.

Sponsored by National Oilwell Varco, the award is the only one in the industry reserved solely for drilling contractors. All recipients are nominated and selected by IADC Drilling Contractor members.

2016 Recipient


award-mgarvinMike Garvin, Senior VP of Operations Support, Patterson-UTI Drilling Company

Mr. Garvin was named the 2016 Contractor of the Year in recognition of his leadership, service and talent that has enhanced both IADC and the drilling industry as a whole. Further, Mr Garvin has been instrumental in collaborating with regulators on behalf of onshore contractors. Mr Garvin has served as IADC Division VP North America Onshore since 2015, and he currently leads the IADC Onshore Advisory Panel.